Episode Six

episode six.jpg (7701 bytes)Our own and golden pop group, Episode Six, continues to score successes; following the Radio London boosting of "I Hear Trumpets", their next disc, "Here, There and Everywhere" was well received on Juke-Box Jury.  They have recently signed a five-year contract with a theatrical agency.  The group is led by Graham Carter-Dimmock and includes Harvey Shield as drummer.  Older readers will remember his incredible performances in successive years in "Drumbreak" during the Christmas entertainments.

(Gaytonian Magazine 1966)

This respected beat group evolved in 1964 when two Harrow County groups amalgamated. Roger Glover (b. 30 November 1945, Brecon, Wales; bass), Harvey Shields (drums) and Tony Lander (guitar) were former members of the Madisons; Sheila Carter-Dimmock (organ), her brother Graham (rhythm guitar) and Andy Ross (vocals) were from the Lightnings. Ross, who quickly tired of touring, left in May 1965, and was replaced by Ian Gillan (b. 19 August 1945, Hounslow, Middlesex, England). The sextet had already secured a recording deal with Pye Records ; 'Put Yourself In My Place', written by the Hollies' team, Clarke/Hicks/Nash, duly became their debut single the following January. Episode Six specialized in releasing cover versions, bringing strong harmony work to the Beatles' 'Here, There And Everywhere', the Tokens' 'I Hear Trumpets Blow' and Tim Rose 's 'Morning Dew'.  Two solo singles, by Sheila Carter-Dimmock and Graham Carter-Dimmock, were also issued.  The latter's release, credited to 'Neo Maya', was a cover version of 'I Won't Hurt You', originally recorded by the West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band.  Shields was replaced by former Pirates drummer John Kerrison in 1967.  The following year the sextet switched to MGM, dropping the 'Six' suffix for one single, 'Little One'.

return HOME